5 star review  I feel lucky to have stayed at Villa Maria! The room and house in general are super nicely decorated and it feels like you are living in another time. The view is one of the best I've had in my life: The city, the sea and the big blue sky are all there and you get a real sense of the greek island amazing light! The hospitality from the hosts is stellar, they made me feel super at home from the first moment and even provided a lot of information for nearby hikes. I cannot recommend it enough!

    thumb Angela Patrinou
    3/06/2021

    5 star review  I intended to stay at Villa Maria for 5 weeks but loved it so much I ended up staying for nearly 3 months. Villa Maria itself is beautiful, it also has an incredible view and is in the perfect location - right in the heart of Ermoupoulis. Kostas and Elisa are the kindest hosts, who went above and beyond to look after me. I couldn’t have had a nicer stay here and can’t recommend it enough. A very special place.

    thumb Honor Dangerfield
    12/06/2020

    5 star review  Once again our stay at Villa Maria was wonderful. Our host is friendly and discreet and has paid attention to all the details that make a guest feel comfortable, such as the well-kept bed with the very comfortable mattress and pillows. Wonderful room with large windows and balcony overlooking the town of Ermoupoli. I highly recommend it.

    thumb Eleni Spiridaki
    11/12/2020

    5 star review  Villa Maria is an extremely unique and friendly place. Once you arrive you already feel like home. You have nothing to worry about. Kostas is there for you, to show you and tell you anything you need to know about the island and its pure magic! He is there to help you out with everything. The rooms/ the house is located at a fantastic spot remind you of a Shakespeare setting ! It's very clean and cozy! Staying at Villa Maria it's an excellent choice and a good memory to keep you warm through the hectic days of the city! Hope you have an amazing stay! Enjoy every single bit of it !

    thumb Evangelia Kontonikolaki
    11/08/2020

    5 star review  A beautifully decorated 19th century house, located just above the main square with amazing views over the port and nearby islands from the top rooms. Kostas is a very friendly and helpful host and a mine of information about the island. We've stayed several times and hope to be back soon.

    thumb Rupert Smith
    11/07/2020

    5 star review  Amazing villa, we were totally in love with it. Every room was beautifully renovated with respect to the original.. the location was perfect and the views amazing. Kostas was really friendly and enthusiastic, thank you for the hospitality! One of the best places we ever stayed, would definitely come back!!

    thumb Sana Otten
    8/22/2020

 

      Amazing spacious kitchen, good outdoor spaces on different levels of the house from the apartment that let you get sun. Close to the town where everything is available and a 10 min walk (or less) to the local swimming spot. Kostas and Elisa are excellent hosts and very accommodating.

    thumb Rhodri
    11/02/2020

      Very nice stay in this house very close to the centre, very comfortable! I recommend it fully. !

    thumb Andrei
    10/22/2020

      We had a great time! The flat is perfectly located and equipped and the rooftop has a great view! Kostas had great recommendations for us! The check in and out was flexible! Highly recommended!

    thumb Lasse
    10/21/2020

      Super endroit pour un week-end, déco superbe, accueil au top avec visite et les adresses à tester ! Réactivité aux messages, et disponibilité!
    Rien à redire, a tester sans hésiter

    thumb Chloé
    10/14/2020

      Appartamento in posizione perfetta a pochi passi da piazza Miaouli. La scalinata per raggiungerlo non lo rende adattto a chi ha problemi di deambulazione. Per il resto solo note positive. Appartamento molto bello con il "plus" del terrazzino privato sul tetto con vista mare. Accoglienza perfetta e ci sente a casa propria. Avevamo il traghetto il pomeriggio e ci hanno consentito il check out ritardato. Consigliatissimo.

    thumb Marco
    10/01/2020

      Fantastic place even better than it looks in the photos- and it looks good in the photos. Would highly recommend a visit

    thumb Kim
    9/14/2020

      We very much enjoyed staying in beautiful Villa Maria. Kostas has the best recommendations for food and activities on the Island. Efcharisto!

    thumb Samuel
    9/05/2020

      Romantic setting, central location and clean room! It was just what we had hoped for. I can truly recommend this place for others!

    thumb Helene
    8/23/2020

      We absolutely LOVED this space. Perfect. So much character, amazing views, location ideal, charming as heck and quiet street but super close to the square... can’t recommend it enough. Will stay here again for sure. Kostas was such a sweetheart and helped my friend with her ridiculously heavy suitcase to and from our meeting point and gave us great tips for the town. Can’t wait to return to Syros and this space

    thumb Karlyn
    8/14/2020

      Konstas and Elisa were great hosts! Any time again 🙂

    thumb Rene
    8/14/2020

      While we visited Syros in the “off-season” in December, Kostas ensured we had a wonderful experience with his excellent hospitality including meeting us after we arrived by ferry. His local tips were essential and all excellent - from restaurants to local sites to see. As others have mentioned the location is ideal - close to the town square but quiet on a pedestrian only street. The view from the rooftop terrace was wonderful and relaxing as well. We look forward to coming back during the spring/summer.

    thumb Priscilla
    12/15/2019

      Perfect apartment in an amazing location. Exactly as described and then some. One of the best Airbnb’s I’ve stayed in. Kostas is a great host who goes out of his way to make sure you have a compfortable stay. Great local tips! Hope to be back again!! Thanks!!!

    thumb Matt
    11/12/2019

      Phenomenal place to stay! The quality of the home is fantastic - it was even nicer than we expected from the pictures! Kostas and Elisa were great hosts, and were very flexible and generous in terms of our check-in and check-out time. The location is terrific. The kitchen is incredible. We were wowed by this beautiful home on this wonderful island. Would highly recommend!

    thumb Amy
    11/02/2019

      A stunning apartment which mixes the traditional cycladic style of syros and the modernity of it's capital. The host was wonderful, extremely helpful and generous with his effort. He made us feel at home from the moment we met him. I recommend this property to any potential travelers for Syros. It will make your trip all the better.

    thumb Anthony
    10/11/2019

      Superbe logement au cœur d’Ermoupoli !!!! Très bien situé dans la ville ! Nous avons été reçu par Kostas qui nous à très bien acceuilli et donner plein d’adresses locales pour qu’on passe un magnifique séjour à Syros! Le logement était très propre, très bien décoré et équipé avec une bonne literie et surtout un rooftop avec une vue exceptionnelle !
    Nous recommandons sans hésiter ! Encore merci Kostas !

    thumb Clémence
    10/02/2019

      Kostas Stefanou and Elisa Mavropoulou are wonderful people and gracious hosts, and they made our stay at their Villa Maria a sweet, comfortable, intimate, and very warm experience.
    Even before we arrived, Kostas’s prompt responses to our email questions revealed how friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive he is. And when we arrived in Syros, his clear directions brought us quickly from the ferry to the main square, where he was waiting with an easy smile and great enthusiasm for our visit.
    Ermoupolis spreads out along the port and uphill from it with many pedestrian-only streets and many, many stairs. Kostas guided us along the few streets and up the stone steps to Ydras Street and the bougainvillea-covered entrance to Villa Maria, an old mansion that he and Elisa have beautifully and lovingly restored. After showing us to our room, Kostas sat with us at a table on the second-floor outdoor courtyard and annotated a map of the city and the island, providing what turned out to be fabulous recommendations for places to eat, towns to visit, beaches to... read more

    thumb Amy
    9/23/2019

      This space is amazing and very cozy. Expect to get a stair climbing workout on your commute to and from the villa, however, it is entirely worth it. You will certainly enjoy your stay!

    thumb Maggie
    9/20/2019

      Kostas was a brilliant host. He met me on time when arriving on the island. Gave me a good variety of recommendations which I'm very glad I took on road as may not have found them otherwise.

    The room was just like the pictures with great views and comfortable living arrangements.

    Highly recommended and good value for money.

    Nicholas

    thumb Nicholas James
    8/23/2019

      Kostas is the best host you could possibly imagine, very friendly and reactive, he helped us with lots of recommendations and passion for his home town.
    His villa is wonderful with many terraces and rooftops, even his cat is very friendly and kind 🙂

    Highly recommended!

    thumb Eddy
    8/21/2019

      Kostas was extremely kind and generous. When we arrived he sat downstairs with us and gave us a thorough overview of local restaurants, bars, and beaches both in Ermoupoli and around the island. He also let us know about the international film festival happening at the time which we had a great time at.

    The house was beautiful and clean with two lovely balconies overlooking the city. There was also a shared courtyard which was beautiful. The courtyard also came with a sweet kitty which we loved spending time with.

    Overall, a great experience. We would definitely return!

    thumb Leah
    7/22/2019

      I was really impressed with the island of Syros and all that it had to offer. Kostas’s apartment is very nice and comfortable, with a nice view of the sea. Plenty of room to do relax. Kostas was a delightfully nice host, kind, considerate and very knowledgeable about the island. It was a pleasure staying here.

    thumb Monica
    7/19/2019

      A very nice old traditional decorated restored villa in a very nice neighbourhood just north of Ermoupolis’ center. Kostas was very friendly and very helpful with tips for places to visit and where to eat.

    Water pressure could be a little better and the place a bit cleaner altogether.

    Certainly value for money and a great experience.

    Thank you Kostas !

    thumb Christina
    7/15/2019

      This was the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of a truly spectacular Greek island, complete with great people and crystal clear waters just a short walk away from this home. Kostas was always around to answer questions and make sure we were comfortable. The kitchen was a great place to prepare meals as it had every tool you could ever need. Also a very short walk from the port, perfect for day trips and just very convenient distance from the port to the home. Kostas met us in the town square so we had no problems locating the home! Great stay I hope to come back.

    thumb Mary
    7/09/2019

      A fantastic trip to Syros staying at this stunning mansion! Perfect for our group of 8. Beautiful building and easy to get to. Thank you Kostas!

    thumb Helena
    7/02/2019

      Nice accomodation with a great view of Syros town and sea. About a 5 minute walk to the town.

    thumb Mike
    7/02/2019

      From the moment we arrived on Syros it felt like we were at home. Kostas met us and walked us to the house, all the while explaining the best things to do around the town and island. Kostas and Elisa are the most gracious hosts, helping in any way possible to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. The view from the top floor is incredible, watching he sunset with a glass of wine in hand is a must. The furnishings and layout of the house is perfect, as well as impeccably clean. Very comfortable beds, and AC for the hot days. We spent breakfasts out on the shared courtyard. The shared kitchen is well equipped for your short stay. We did a cooking class with Elisa one evening and learned some traditional Greek recipes that were absolutely delicious! We plan to come back with the rest of our family— this place is a true gem.

    thumb Nicole
    6/28/2019

      Beautiful place! Kostas is a perfect host!

    thumb Tucker
    6/21/2019

      When traveling to a place as beautiful as Syros, Greece, it can be overwhelming as what to do to get the most out of your visit. Kostas and Elisa immediately made us feel so at home and shared incredible recommendations for food and beaches. The rooms are newly renovated and the views are spectacular! A beautiful five minute walk from the town square, the Villa Maria is in the heart of the breathtaking city of Syros. The views from the room and not to mention the roof top that overlooks the harbor, were unmatched. Wither it be a romantic weekend, corporate trip, or family get away, you will not regret choosing this lovey accommodation.

    thumb Emma
    6/17/2019

      Kosta’s quick responses and local tips make staying in this place a great example of what a super host means. The cooking area is amazing but our stay was short so this was under utilized. The outdoor terrace was beautiful but the apartment itself had no views. Please know that you must walk lots of steps from town. But you will be rewarded with a beautiful quiet apartment

    thumb Lauren
    5/29/2019

      We loved our stay at Kostas' Airbnb. Kostas was very hospitable and gave us great recommendations for our short stay in Syros. He met us at the town square upon arrival and helped to bring up our luggage, which we appreciated. Our room was very beautiful with lovely views from the private balcony. Highly recommend to others visiting Syros.

    thumb Sarah
    5/26/2019

      Villa Maria is a wonderful space right next to the center of Syros. An absolutely beautiful island, you can expect to find amazingly authentic experiences at incredibly reasonable prices, with many beaches, restaurants, shops, and cafes. The classical architecture is quite beautiful, and the Villa itself has a lovely courtyard and roof for looking out into the bay and up to Ano Syros. If you are looking for a wonderful central location, this spot is perfect for you as it allows you an easy walk to all you need as well as a great space to relax privately. Kostas provided wonderful recommendations - every place we visited on his recommendation was fantastic. As a clean space with a small kitchenette and beautiful outdoor spaces, it is wonderfully complemented by the authentic beauty of Syros. Look no further and stay here!

    thumb Craig
    5/21/2019

      Great area not too far from main square and close to taxi service and buses for beaches.

    thumb Linda
    5/16/2019

      The apartment was perfect for our group of four. It was cute and clean and the roof terrace was perfect for enjoying a glass of wine in the evenings. We only stayed two nights but would have liked to stay longer and tried Elisa’s cooking class. There are a lot of stairs up to the apartment and we had large suitcases but we made it happen with a little teamwork and help from Kostas. He gave us some great tips for exploring the town. I would absolutely recommend!

    thumb Loren
    5/11/2019

      A perfect place to stay in Ermoupoli. The room (pink room) was romantic and beautiful. I stayed alone for a week and loved the space. Corner room with incredible light all day long. Sunrises breathtaking. Great views from the private sunny balcony. Thoughtful decor, fitting of the historic mansion.

    The marble bathroom and shower was luxurious and the hot water was great.

    The king sized bed was very comfortable and the linens were high quality.

    The shared kitchenette was just steps away from the room. I enjoyed making simple meals and it was a very efficient use of space.

    A convivial villa with many outdoor spaces with tables and chairs.

    The host met me and accompanied me to the villa which was very much appreciated. Great local tips.

    I would highly recommend a stay here!!!

    thumb Angela
    11/05/2018

      Εξαιρετική φιλοξενία ..εξαιρετική τοποθεσια στην καρδιά της Ερμούπολης ..όλα ήταν υπέροχα ..μείναμε πολύ ευχαριστημένοι ..εάν επισκεφτούμε ξανά το νησί θα επιλέξουμε πάλι τη Villa Maria!!

    thumb Christina
    10/23/2018

      Love it so much. We really loved our room at Kostas/Elisa’s place. They are amazing hosts. When we arrived, Kostas met us at the port. He was super kind, and helped us with our luggages . Words are not enough to describe his kindness. He recommended great restaurants with beautiful ambiance and great food. The place is sea front, and we loved our balcony and the view. This place is near to the main town. The place is super clean. We will definitely be back. Thank you again for the great hospitality.

    thumb Shahin
    10/09/2018

      This place is amazing! The view is stunning. Kostas is so nice and accommodating. Since nobody was renting the place after us, he let us stay as late as we needed. He was very helpful with local tips. I can’t recommend this place enough. It was really a great stay. Thank you!!

    thumb Laura
    10/06/2018

      Villa Maria was my first Airbnb experience and I feel it has certainly set the bar high! Kostas was super welcoming as soon as we arrived. He has provided a beautiful environment for guests to stay in and offered lots of useful insight to the surrounding area. Everything about Villa Maria I felt was clean, safe, well organized, charming, perfect place 🙂 I hope to return again! Thank you!

    thumb Lauren
    9/14/2018

      What a beautiful place with amazing views and authentic Syros charm, everything was so clean and neat and the towels and linen were of the best quality. What really and his wife are the most incredible hosts

    thumb Stephanie
    9/02/2018

      Amazing place! Kostas was a brilliant host, and the house was clean, comfortable, spacious, and had loads of character. the rooftop patio is amazing. Thank you! Syros is also a really nice island, and this place is well located to explore it.

    thumb Oliver
    8/28/2018

      just incredible. villa maria is one of the most beautiful places i’ve stayed and kostas was a wonderful host. i plan on coming back every summer!

    thumb Persis
    8/24/2018

      Une magnifique demeure parfaitement décorée, chaleureuse et agréable, un rooftop parfait pour les petits déjeuners ou plus selon vos envies. Kostas est disponible et très serviable, merveilleux séjour trop court !
    Nous reviendrons...

    thumb Sophie
    8/13/2018

      Villa Maria was everything we wished it would be! A rare gem that is centrally located stay (it’s walking distance to everything) as well as an authentic Syros experience (the house was built in the 1800’s). Villa Maria, which was thoughtfully renovated, has the effect of a time machine; it’s filled with vintage furnishings and period decorations. Travelling with another family (4 adults and 3 kids in total) it provided more than adequate space. We’ll fondly remember afternoons spent spread across the beautiful rooms, shutters open to the streaming sunlight with the bougenvalia right outside our window. The rooftop terrace is a particular attraction: it was perfect for breakfasts and a hideaway from the midday sun. Last but not least, Kosta’s hospitality elevated our stay. He was cheerful, friendly and eager to share all that Syros has to offer. A great stay all around!

    thumb Aundrea
    8/11/2018

      An absolutely beautiful home. A pleasure to stay there. Kostas gave many great local recommendations. I’ll be back!

    thumb Robert
    8/06/2018

      If you are looking to stay in a lively, working Greek town, not dominated by tourism, with beautiful architecture and food, then Ermoupolis is a great location. If you want to stay in one of its traditional mansions overlooking the town and port then this property is perfect. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated and kostas was on hand throughout to help with any questions. The kitchen is quite small and the outdoor space is shared with 2 other apartments but this was never a problem as there is space for everyone.

    thumb Carl
    8/06/2018

      We stayed seven people here for several days and nights. A nice and relaxing place with a home away from home warm feeling. Very friendly and kind hosts. Though, if you have problems to walk on stairs, look for something else. This is in an area where you need to walk many stairs. No possibility to take a car here. However, if you don’t mind, this is very nice with an modern old feeling.

    thumb Mario
    7/27/2018

      Our stay at Villa Maria was among one of our very best Airbnb experiences— everything about our stay at Villa Maria was magnificent. The villa itself is comfortable, centrally located close to the port, tons of restaurants, and the swimming area. Our room was beautifully decorated in neoclassical style, true to Syros’ history, and equipped with a private balcony and an AC, which was much appreciated during the few hot days of our stay. Kostas was super generous with his time and gave us excellent recommendations and a map of places to eat and things to do/see while on Syros. We also paid extra for Elisa’s breakfast basket—- packed with her homemade goodies and thoroughly enjoyed them all (they’re delicious!) on the beautiful rooftop terrace overlooking the Aegean. We’re already fantasizing about our return to Villa Maria—- a magical place on an equally magical island. By far the highlight of our Cyclades trip, much more than Mykonos or Santorini.

    thumb Matias
    7/23/2018

      A lovely room in Syros. Kostas is a fantastic host who is very dedicated to making sure his guests are well taken care of and accommodated. The villa is located very centrally in Ermoupoli and Kostas gave us wonderful recommendations for where to eat and swim!

    thumb Lucy
    7/19/2018

      What I loved..... a gorgeous mansion, ginormous bed, fresh breeze through the French doors and windows, walkable to everything, gorgeous places to swim! I love this town and of course Kostas beautiful home!

    thumb Persia
    7/15/2018

      Love, love, loved this place and it’s owners. It was a pure delight to stay with them. The view was perfect! The bed was very comfortable. Lots of personal touches each day, like local candy or fresh fruit to sample in the kitchenette. Everything we needed was provided and their hospitality was beyond impressive. We definitely hope to return some day! Kostas met us in town and walked us to our place, they showed us around their villa, and sat with us to share/suggest activities, etc. during our stay. We ordered a delicious breakfast basket homemade by Elisa with home grown ingredients, which we gobbled up the first day. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to arrange a cooking class with her this trip (which she offers)...next time we will absolutely plan ahead and include that in the experience! Wonderful home & hosts to be sure!!

    thumb Heather
    7/11/2018

      Kostas truly is a “super” host. We can in by ferry around 9pm and he stayed up and met us in the square to show us the apartment. He then took the time to give us a map and mark it for us with everything we needed: cafes, gyro spots, bars, landmarks, restaurants etc...

    The apartment itself is magnificent. It has an incredible view that lives up to the photos. We also really enjoyed the bathroom, something that pleasantly surprised us. The hallway is shared but this was not a problem.

    thumb Alyssa
    7/08/2018

      Kostas is really a host who goes above and beyond to make his guests feel at home and welcomed. He took the time, a few times, to help us plan out our daily activities based on what we like to do (swimming, hiking, beaching), and he even gave us tips on where to get the best food on the island. The actual space was just phenomenal, the pictures don’t do it justice. There is AC in the room but it wasn’t needed as the windows bring a glorious cross breeze through the room. The bathroom is big with a lovely mounted shower. And the views are amazing! Both at your own little private balcony and at the roof top. We will absolutely be back to this beautiful island of Syros and without a doubt we will contact Kostas to stay in this lovely home again.

    thumb Chrissy
    6/13/2018

      Spent 4 days with 6 friends, amazing hosts. Living in a house like this is an experience on its own. Plus it is located in the most convenient spot possible. Would recommend 11/10. Thank you Elisa & kostas!

    thumb Spyros
    6/04/2018

      Φοβερό κτίριο, φοβερή θέα και μια εκπληκτική αυλή!

    Πεντακάθαρος χώρος, προσεγμένος και ακόμα πιο όμορφος απ' όσο φαίνεται στις φωτογραφίες. Θα ευχαριστηθείτε κάθε γωνιά του και κάθε μικρή πινελιά που έχουν προσθέσει οι οικοδεσπότες. Ο Κώστας ήταν άμεσα διαθέσιμος για ό,τι χρειαστήκαμε και γενικώς πολύ φιλόξενος.

    Η βίλλα, εκτός της αίσθησης που προσφέρει, έχει ένα ιδιαίτερο χαρακτηριστικό: οι αυλές και οι ταράτσες της προσφέρουν τρομερή θέα ενώ ταυτόχρονα η βίλλα βρίσκεται μόλις 3' από την πλατεία Μιαούλη.

    Συνίσταται ανεπιφύλακτα για διακοπές στην Ερμούπολη.

    thumb Nafsika
    6/03/2018

      Ο Κώστας και η Ελίσα είναι υπέροχοι οικοδεσπότες έχουν ένα ονειρεμένο σπιτι, για τους φίλους μας ήταν εμπειρία να μείνουμε στο σπιτι τους . Όπως και να ακούγεται το σπιτι ειναι (Website hidden by Airbnb) σημείο δεν θα μπορούσε να είναι καλύτερο κεντρικα και ήσυχα ,όλες οι πληροφορίες που μας έδωσε ο Κώστας για φαγητό αξιοθέατα έκαναν την διαμονή μας αξέχαστη . Ευχαριστούμε θα έρθουμε πάλι Loukia&Matthias

    thumb Matthias
    5/31/2018

      We (4 friends) really enjoyed our 1 week stay in the spacious big house in Villa Maria. The house is very athmospheric and most of the furniture is historic and was found in the house, was refurbished and put in a new setting. It is old world charm with modern comfort and matches perfectly to a relaxed holiday. 3 different terraces on different levels can host dinners, breakfasts and drinks and even if there are different parties staying, (there are 3 more studios on site), there is always a secluded place. Kostas gives good recommendations for places to go and restaurants etc. One should take advantage of it. What we liked about Syros is, that it is not just a touristic ghetto but also a charming little town with a normal local live going on with all kinds of shops, a university and schools .... and still you walk 5 minutes to dive into the sea and have great tavernas, restaurants, cafes and bars in walking distance.

    thumb Kai
    5/13/2018

      We had a fantastic Easter break at Villa Maria. A great place and super helpful hosts. We’ll be coming back soon!

    thumb Alexis
    4/08/2018

      Kostas and Elisa’s place was fantastic. The villa is close to town, with a beautiful view of the water. We opted for Elisa’s breakfast basket, which we ate outside on the patio with Greek coffee and homemade breads and jams overlooking the town of Ermopolis. A lovely morning!
    The room was bright and clean and very comfortable. And Kostas and Elisa were welcoming, friendly and full of tips on what to do on the island of Syros.
    Overall great stay at Villa Maria.

    thumb Caroline
    2/20/2018

      We had a wonderful stay at Kostas/Elisa wonderful 19th century house! Hosts were so kind and nice, always there when needed and ready to help, and full of nice advices about the town and the island.
    The house was incredibly elegant and beautiful, very well situated, just above the main, wonderful square of Ermoupoli, but still very quiet.
    We falled in love with the house, and also with this incredible city of Ermoupoli.
    Would love to come again!

    thumb Chris
    9/30/2017

      This is a gem of a place in Ermoupoli and Kostas is a gem of a host. Couldn't recommend this Airbnb enough, it's absolutely the best you can get in Ermoupoli, beautiful inside and the views just breathtaking.

    thumb Chloe
    8/29/2017

      Syros was our second stop on our island hopping journey and it was perfect to offset everything of Mykonos. Villa Maria was a beautifully up kept building with a lot of "old work charm" just like the description says. Kostas was awesome and provided easy directions for meeting him when we arrived off of our ferry. He gives great recommendations for foods and activities as well! It does require a little jaunt up a few flights of stairs through the town but once there it's a perfect getaway.

    thumb Becca-Ashley
    8/28/2017

      Kostas is a great host! He showed us all of the great places in Syros, especially kastri a women's run cafeteria with amazing cheap food! He was so friendly and helpful, even walking us down to the pharmacy when we jumped on sea urchins at the beach :(. If you are trying to decide whether or not to stay here I highly recommend it. It was clean, comfortable, and had an amazing view from the rooftop. Would happily stay there again!

    thumb Lilli
    8/09/2017

      The restored historic Villa Maria is a calming and stunningly beautiful place to stay - each moment of the day revealed something unique about the house, situated in gorgeous hill town of Ermoupolis. The views from the house survey the rooftops of the city and offer broad vistas all the way to the port. The house is well stocked and you will find everything thing you need. Elisa prepared a welcome basket of the most heavenly jams and bread. Kostas provided excellent suggestions for where to find the best places to swim and to dine across the island. Tavernas and restaurants offer a range from traditional to modern cuisine--all quite tasty. I've been to several islands and found Syros to be quite unique--especially since Ermoupolis is a 19th century city quite different from the traditional Cycladic town chora. We rented a car to tour the island but I can imagine it is very easy to stay here without one and take taxis to various destinations outside of town. Kostas and Elisa have made Villa Maria one of the most... read more

    thumb M. O.
    7/06/2017

      If you love historic homes, you will love this house! It's absolutely gorgeous, restored and refurbished with meticulous sensitivity to the period of its construction. Some of my favorite elements included the high ceilings and gorgeous original windows. Great views of the Hermopoulis port from one of the bedrooms as well, and of course from the rooftop patio!

    The house was incredibly cool and surprisingly quiet. Only one bedroom in this unit has A/C, but the other rooms have ceiling fans and I actually got cold at night (in June!) if the fan was left on. They do a great job of keeping the house very comfortable. And it's so quiet at night! The only noise we noticed was from the occasional cat-fight outside, and, well, you're going to find that anywhere you go on the island. 😉

    The one thing you must know about this house is the STAIRS. There are a LOT of stairs to get up to the house. More than I expected. It wasn't so bad when we had nothing in our hands, but... read more

    thumb Constance
    6/27/2017

      Excellent host, friendly and communicative. The house is central and in a very quiet neighborhood. Thank you so much

    thumb Anastasis
    6/19/2017